Update: Do you care about Spam in Search Results – Tell Google about Endsleigh

by George on February 19, 2007

A previous post about Search engine spammers and cheaters created a fair amount of noise in the comments! It even attracted employees from major SEO companies and key market players.

It also saw corrections in the analysis – the SEO industry seems to be quite protective of their conquests! However, two questions remain:

  1. Who is creating all these Endsleigh doorway pages satellite sites?
  2. How are Endsleigh getting away with cheating Google?

Let’s answer those questions now.

Endsleigh’s 28,000 or so backlinks come from many different domains to harness link equity and appear in the top 10 for [car insurance]. However, they also seem to use satellite sites that all point to Endsleigh. Here are a few:

Henry from Tamar suggests that they have no control over these sites and are not managing them. So who is creating them?

Further analysis reveals a slightly tangled web. This http://reducemyquote.tamarstage.dcmanaged.com/ sure looks like Tamar to me! Henry, what’s the real story?

Finally, why does Google allow this. Their guidelines specifically state:

  • Don’t create multiple pages, subdomains, or domains with substantially duplicate content
  • Avoid “doorway” pages created just for search engines, or other “cookie cutter” approaches such as affiliate programs with little or no original content.

This looks like a contravention to me. Kevin also comments whether there is any sign that Google will take action. I highly doubt it, but if a few of us submit a quick spam report, things should get interesting.

UPDATE 20th Feb: Success! 17to40.co.uk have been removed from the search results – but for how long?

{ 8 comments… read them below or add one }

George February 20, 2007 at 6:07 am

I’m not sure how this tool works but SEOLogs.com is reporting 17to40.co.uk as having a fake pagerank.
Does anyone know whether this is accurate or whether Google can employ similar tactics?

Dan February 20, 2007 at 7:29 am

It looks like there’s a 301 redirect from http://17to40.co.uk to http://www.endsleigh.co.uk however this redirect appears to be cloaked, possibly by IP address as I can’t replicate it using a user-agent switcher. I still can’t work out why it helped their rankings though?

Possibly they set http://www.17to40.co.uk as the main URL in their Google webmaster console settings? They definitely have an account: http://www.17to40.co.uk/sitemap.xml

Maybe this confused Google into amalgamating all the links from both sites?
http://17to40.co.uk has the PR7 of http://www.endsleigh.co.uk/

Anybody have any other theories?

Kevin February 20, 2007 at 7:35 am

The page rank is now valid for 17to40.co.uk, but this may well be the case as to why they are not in the top 10 pages of Google for the ‘car insurance’ keyword.

George February 20, 2007 at 11:32 am

@Kevin, Did you try the SEOLogs tool to check the pagerank? It’s still showng as invalid for me. N.B. There is a difference when using 17to40.co.uk and http://www.17to40.co.uk

George February 20, 2007 at 11:34 am

@Dan, Where are you seeing this 301? It used to be there but I thought they removed it.

Dan February 20, 2007 at 12:59 pm

@George, i’m sort of guessing :)

The cache date of http://17to40.co.uk was 13/2/07 but it’s been spidered again on 17/2/07 and is still showing the cache as http://www.endsleigh.co.uk

I can’t be sure but it seems as though the 301 is still there, although I don’t suppose it will be for long now they’ve dropped.

Dan

Kevin February 20, 2007 at 6:01 pm

George,

I was looking at http://www.17to40.co.uk and not 17to40.co.uk. What’s the difference?

George February 21, 2007 at 11:50 am

@Kevin, 17to40.co.uk and http://www.17to40.co.uk appear the same now. However, previously, 17to40.co.uk redirected to Endsleigh. Dan, in the comments above, thinks this might have been a cloaked redirect.

Leave a Comment