WeBuyAnyCar – A Scam

We Buy Any Car, that website with the popular jingle has been revealed by the Office of Fair Trading to be a farce!

The OFT found nearly 96pc of people who sold their car through the website received less for their vehicle than the initial valuation suggested, with some prices being knocked down by hundreds of pounds.

Webuyanycar – similar to Wonga

We buy any car .com is similar to Wonga.com who purportedly offer great rates but are actually miles above any lending rates available in the market. The advertised rate on their website at time of writing is 4214%!!

Spoof Sites

This farce has set up a series of spoof sites including WeStealAnyCar


Terry Nutkin April 5, 2011 at 9:30 am

Thieving Wan***s….

I can see the ambulance chasers change in direction now. Missold PPI? Had an accident at work? Sold your car to WBAC.com? We will get you compensation to cover for the loss you made on your Rover Vittese in Lime Green on the Y. Our fee, 83% + VAT of the amount recovered….

Tom L January 21, 2013 at 10:29 pm

83% of what is recovered , WTF is that why would anyone bother to try and even receive anything. Whose scamming who here ???

Professional Indemnity Insurance April 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm

A friend of mine proved their “we buy any car” mantra wrong, his car did need about £2k of work and they’d offered £1600 for it though.

Dave May 7, 2011 at 4:56 pm

lol i have brought a few bangers after they scammed me and resold them on for ££££

haha more fool them for tryin to scam me


Web design September 8, 2011 at 7:37 am

I was thinking about contacting them to sell my car but this has really put me off

DLM@NJ June 4, 2012 at 2:38 pm

I agree. I got an initial quote at one amount. Several weeks later around the agreed appointment time to “sell” my car, they re-evaluated the price $1,000.00 less! They were getting a “gift” at the first quote, then they just wanted to steal my car at the second figure.

Davey P. Russell August 10, 2012 at 7:09 pm

webuyanycar valued my rare classic sports car at £129.01 MINUS the admin fees £49.95, plus I had to deliver it to them, another £40! Meaning I would receive £39.06 in my hand, for a 26 year old low mileage, mint condition car which I sold privately for £8, 500!
Interesting huh?
Just suppose I had been a sweet little old lady , recently widowed, trying to get rid of my late husband’s car?????????
webuyanycar.com = rip-off superstars!!!!!!!!!

Flounder January 24, 2013 at 7:58 pm

I was a former employee (manager) and it is a HUGE scam. They are unethical and the CEO as well as the managers know nothing about the car Bussiness. I first hand saw how they treated their emplyees and I was amazed. The quotes for prices are way off by at least $1000-$2000 of what your car is really worth. DON’T use this company unless you want to get ripped off!

Disgruntled dave February 4, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Had the misfortune of not listening to others and giving WBAC.com a try to sell my car,the process lasted an hour by the time they phoned managers for various reasons,all atempts to reduce the price from which they had quoted in the first place,while we were there they were phoning people who hadnt turned up for their appointments (lucky sods) the end result was they wanted to reduce the price by £300 for unjust reasons. So dont waste your time.

Edward George May 2, 2013 at 8:33 pm

I am thinking of selling my ’99 Lotus Elise, less than 10K miles, with approved mods etc,etc. Pristine condition. Currently advertised in the Lotus Club mag at £11K.
WeBuyAny Car must have seen the ad and sent me an email offering me £4950!!
You can imagine my response to thos con artists!
I have been offered £11K by a genuine dealer, but turned that down also. £4950! What a joke! Only a complete simpleton would fall for that one, surely!

Alan peel June 21, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Expect an initial offer at least 25 % below Glasses guide. Ask a dealer. You will probably do a lot better

Comments on this entry are closed.